Historical archive display at East Lake Golf Club

The original locker that was used by Bobby Jones, along with a second locker that was gifted to him after his 1930 Grand Slam, on display in the golf shop at East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Georgia.

(Photo by Keyur Khamar/PGA TOUR)

U.S. Open

Bobby Jones won his first major at the US Open in 1923. He would go on to win the US Open again in 1926 and 1929. On July 12, 1930 Jones won his 3rd major championship of the year, at the US Open at the Interlachen Country Club in Minnesota.

British Open

In 1926 and 1927 Bobby Jones won back to back British Open Championships. On June 20, 1930, Jones won the British Open again, his 2nd major tournament of the year, at Royal Liverpool Club, Hoylake, England. In 2009, East Lake golfer Stewart Cink captured the Claret Jug yet again for the Club after winning the British Open in Turnberry, Scotland.

U.S. Amateur

Bobby Jones won the US Amateur in 1924, 1925, 1927 and 1928. Jones completed the Grand Slam of golf on September 27, 1930 by winning the United States Amateur for his fifth time at Merion Cricket Club in Ardmore, Pennsylvania.

British Amateur

Bobby Jones started his Grand Slam year by winning his 1st British Amateur on May 31, 1930 at the Royal & Ancient Golf Club, St. Andrews, Scotland. In 1938, East Lake golfer Charlie Yates won the British Amateur at Royal Troon Golf Club.

Ryder Cup

In 1963 the 15th Biennial Ryder Cup Matches were held at East Lake. The United States team won that year with playing captain, Arnold Palmer.

Walker Cup

In 1930, Bobby Jones led the United States team to victory in the Walker Cup as captain at the Royal St. George’s Golf Club. In 1953, Charlie Yates captained the US team and led them to victory at The Kittansett Club.


In 1894, Theodore A. Havemeyer, president of the newly formed United States Golf Association, funded the creation of a trophy for the national amateur championship winner. On November 22, 1925, the East Lake Clubhouse was consumed by fire and several of Bobby Jones’ trophies were lost, including the original Havemeyer Trophy. The following year, the U.S.G.A. introduced a newly designed trophy that is still in use today. In the year 1996, Garrard, Britain’s Crown Jewelers reproduced the original 1895 trophy based on two photographs. East Lake Golf Club and USGA’s Golf House in Far Hills, New Jersey house the only two replicas of the original Havemeyer Trophy.

Payne Stewart Award

The Payne Stewart Award is presented annually to the current or former PGA TOUR player who best exemplifies the professionalism, integrity and commitment to public citizenship that is Payne Stewart’s legacy. The award is accompanied by an annual Payne Stewart Award Grant, presented by Southern Company. This grant is distributed equally to The Stewart Family Foundation, The First Tee facility in Payne’s honor at Kanakuk Kamps, MO, and the charity designated by the award’s recipient. The winner is announced each year at the TOUR Championship. The Payne Stewart Award is the newest addition to East Lake’s collection and is on display in the Atkinson Room.

Calamity Jane

This commemorative putter is an exact copy of Bobby Jones’ original putter. It has a 66 degree lie and 8 degree loft. Jones received the original in 1920 from James Maiden. That putter and a copy were employed by Jones to capture thirteen major championships including the Grand Slam in 1930. In 1925 a fire ravaged through the East Lake Clubhouse. All of Jones’s Clubs were destroyed except for Calamity Jane. The Calamity Jane is given by East Lake Golf Club to the winner of the TOUR Championship each year.

Bobby Jones' Locker

In the men’s locker room at old East Lake, there was actually a double locker bearing Nos. 690 and 691. It still held the most prized treasure in all of golf – Bobby Jones clubs, shoes and other necessary accoutrements of the world champion. Today Jones’ double locker, which the members made for him after winning the 1930 Grand Slam, is displayed in the Golf Shop.